Language: English

Botox “A Wrinkle in Time”: Current and Emerging Trends in Medical and Dental Uses for the Dental Practitioner

Speaker(s): Assistant Professor Sandra Stramoski, RDH, MSDH , Assistant Professor Anna Matthews, RDH, MS

LIVE WEBINAR

Wed 10 Jan, 08:00 PM EST (New York)

  Days
:
   Hours
:
   Minutes
:
   Seconds
2018-01-10 20:00:00 2018-01-10 21:00:00 America/New_York Botox “A Wrinkle in Time”: Current and Emerging Trends in Medical and Dental Uses for the Dental Practitioner Botox®, one of the botulinum toxin drugs derived from the bacterium Clostridium botulinum, has gained popularity in the past 20 years as a safe, non-invasive cosmetic treatment for facial lines and wrinkles, but has a rich history in treating a wide and eclectic group of medical and dental maladies and conditions. https://www.colgateoralhealthnetwork.com/webinar/botox-a-wrinkle-in-time-current-and-emerging-trends-in-medical-and-dental-uses-for-the-dental-practitioner/ Colgate Oral Health Network other
timezones

Other Time Zones.

Course date in other time zones

Los Angeles, USA

10 Jan 2018, 05:00 PM

New York, USA

10 Jan 2018, 08:00 PM

London, United Kingdom

11 Jan 2018, 01:00 AM

Berlin, Germany

11 Jan 2018, 02:00 AM

Bucharest, Romania

11 Jan 2018, 03:00 AM

Moskow, Russian Federation

11 Jan 2018, 04:00 AM

Islamabad, Pakistan

11 Jan 2018, 06:30 AM

New Delhi, India

11 Jan 2018, 06:30 AM

Bangkok, Thailand

11 Jan 2018, 08:00 AM

Hanoi, Vietnam

11 Jan 2018, 08:00 AM

Beijing, China

11 Jan 2018, 09:00 AM

Philipines

11 Jan 2018, 09:00 AM

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

11 Jan 2018, 09:00 AM

Singapore

11 Jan 2018, 09:00 AM

Taiwan

11 Jan 2018, 09:00 AM

Hong Kong

11 Jan 2018, 09:00 AM

Sydney

11 Jan 2018, 12:00 PM

Register Now

Please login or register as a member for free.

In order to register for a webinar you must be a member of Colgate Oral Health Network. Registration is completely free. Register now.

REGISTER
FOR FREE

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Botox®, one of the botulinum toxin drugs derived from the bacterium Clostridium botulinum, has gained popularity in the past 20 years as a safe, non-invasive cosmetic treatment for facial lines and wrinkles, but has a rich history in treating a wide and eclectic group of medical and dental maladies and conditions.

Medical uses include FDA approved indications, such as overactive bladder, strabismus, cervical dystonia and migraine headaches. Off-label uses range from painful cold hand syndromes to depression, and even investigational research in treating atrial fibrillation, a potentially life-threatening abnormal heartbeat.

In recent years, dental practitioners have adopted the use of the neurotoxin for indications ranging from cosmetic purposes, such as “gummy smile” and nasolabial folds, to sialorrhea, trigeminal neuralgia, temporomandibular joint dysfunction and bruxism. Botulinum toxin injection is not without risk, including FDA-issued Black Box warnings that the drug may spread systemically, causing urinary incontinence, breathing difficulties, and rarely, death.

This presentation will provide the dental practitioner with knowledge of common and emerging uses of the botulinum neurotoxins, their mechanisms of action, risks, benefits and implications for dental patient care and considerations.

Participants will learn:

• Identify current and emerging trends in the use of botulinum neurotoxin for medical and dental indications.
• Describe the mechanism of action of botulinum neurotoxin for medical and dental uses.
• Assess the risks and benefits of medical uses of botulinum neurotoxins.
• Discuss the potential for safe and effective cosmetic and therapeutic use of botulinum neurotoxins in the dental setting.

Target audience: Dentists, dental assistants and hygienists


Language: English

Release date: Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Expiration date: Sunday, January 10, 2021

You are required to complete a short evaluation form and pass a C.E. Quiz in order to receive the ADA CERP or AGD PACE credit.
AGD PACE subject code(s):
202,190

“Botox “A Wrinkle in Time”: Current and Emerging Trends in Medical and Dental Uses for the Dental Practitioner” is co-sponsored by Tribune Group GmbH. Tribune Group GmbH is a recognized ADA CERP and AGD PACE provider.