Colgate Oral Health Network
Partner: Santa Fe Group

FREE LIVE
WEBINAR

2024-04-11 00:00:00

other
timezones

Los Angeles, USA

Wed. April 10, 5:00 pm

Mexico City, Mexico

Wed. April 10, 6:00 pm

New York, USA

Wed. April 10, 8:00 pm

London, UK

Thu. April 11, 1:00 am

Berlin, Germany

Thu. April 11, 2:00 am

Bucharest, Romania

Thu. April 11, 3:00 am

Moscow, Russia

Thu. April 11, 3:00 am

Abu Dhabi, UAE

Thu. April 11, 4:00 am

New Delhi, India

Thu. April 11, 5:30 am

Bangkok, Thailand

Thu. April 11, 7:00 am

Beijing, China

Thu. April 11, 8:00 am

Singapore

Thu. April 11, 8:00 am

Tokyo, Japan

Thu. April 11, 9:00 am

Sydney, Australia

Thu. April 11, 10:00 am

Santa Fe Group Medicare Update
Lisa Simon

Dr. Lisa Simon MD, DMD

Linda Niessen

Dr. Linda Niessen DMD, MPH, MPP

Judith  Haber

Dr. Judith Haber PhD, APRN, FAAN

The webinar will be recorded and the recording will be available within 48 hours.
Please note that only by attending a live webinar you are eligeable for LIVE CE.

Santa Fe Group Medicare Update

The purpose of this webinar is to describe the rationale for inclusion of dental care in Medicare, define medically necessary dental care, discuss progress to date, and identify next steps.

Participants will learn:

  • 1. Describe three links between oral and systemic diseases;
  • 2. Describe the rationale for inclusion of dental care in Medicare;
  • 3. Define Medically Necessary Dental Care;
  • 4. Describe the process for including new conditions where dental treatment improves health outcomes;
  • 5. Identify next steps in the inclusion of medically necessary dental care in Medicare.

Presenters:

Lisa Simon

Dr. Lisa Simon MD, DMD

More courses with Dr. Lisa Simon

Dr. Lisa Simon is a physician, dentist, and health services researcher. She has published more than 70 peer-reviewed articles on the separation of medicine and dentistry. She is a faculty member in the Division of General Internal Medicine and Primary Care at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School, and the Harvard School of Dental Medicine.

Linda Niessen

Dr. Linda Niessen DMD, MPH, MPP

More courses with Dr. Linda Niessen

Dr. Linda Niessen serves as Vice Provost for Oral Health Affairs for Kansas City University (KCU) and Founding Dean and Professor for the KCU College of Dental Medicine in Joplin, Missouri.  Dr. Niessen is a diplomate of the American Board of Dental Public Health and the American Board of Special Care Dentistry. Her academic career includes serving as a clinician caring for medically complex and geriatric patients at several VA Medical Centers. Dr. Niessen has served as president of the Santa Fe Group, Dallas County Dental Society, American Association of Women Dentists, American Association of Public Health Dentistry, American Board of Dental Public Health, Friends of the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, and the American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry. She has served as a member of Advisory Councils for the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research and the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration. Dr. Niessen received her Bachelor’s degree in Chemistry (Phi Beta Kappa) from the University of New Mexico. She received her dental degree (DMD cum laude), her Masters in Public Health degree (MPH) and her Masters in Public Policy degree (MPP), all from Harvard University. Her passion lies in identifying programs, models and partnerships that improve the oral health of the public, whether through education, research, reimbursement, new technologies and/or community service programs.

Judith  Haber

Dr. Judith Haber PhD, APRN, FAAN

More courses with Dr. Judith Haber

Dr. Judith Haber is the Executive Director of the Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice Program (OHNEP), funded by CareQuest and HRSA, and Professor Emerita at NYU Rory Meyers College of Nursing. Dr. Haber is a Core Partner of the National Interprofessional Initiative on Oral Health (NIIOH). She is the lead author of the landmark (2015) AJPH publication, Putting the Mouth Back in the Head:  HEENT to HEENOT. She was a member of the HRSA Expert Panel that developed the 2014 Interprofessional Oral Health Core Competencies for Primary Care Providers and a member of the Technical Expert Panel that developed the 2015 Qualis Health White Paper, Oral Health: An Essential Component of Primary Care. She contributed to the National Institutes of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) 2022 Oral Health in America: Advances and Challenges. Dr. Haber has been invited to join numerous Advisory Boards, including the Veteran’s Administration (VA) NVHAP National Advisory Board, More Cares Program National Advisory Committee, the Primary Care Collaborative National Steering Committee on Shared Principles, the CIPCOH 100 Million Mouths Advisory Board, the National Medically Necessary Medicare Dental Benefit Consortium, and the GoMoHealth Advisory Board.  Dr. Haber has consulted, presented and published widely on interprofessional education and practice as well as oral-systemic health issues. Dr. Haber is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, the New York Academy of Medicine, and a Board Member and Secretary of the Santa Fe Group. Dr. Haber has received numerous prestigious awards recognizing her outstanding contributions to nursing and healthcare, including the CareQuest Oral Health Equity Award and the EdgeRunner Award from the American Academy of Nursing.

"Santa Fe Group Medicare Update" has been planned and implemented in accordance with the standards of the AGD Pace and is supported by funds received from Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals Inc. Tribune Group GmbH is a recognized AGD Pace provider. At the end of the webinar, after passing the C.E. Quiz, you will be able to download your AGD Pace C.E. Certificate.

OTHER WEBINARS YOU MAY BE INTERESTED IN

On-demand webinar

Management of White Spot Lesion Prevention for a Patient under Ortho Treatment
Jung-Wei Chen

Jung-Wei Chen DDS, MS, MS, PhD, FAAPD, FACD, Diplomate of ABPD, FADI, FICD / Professor and Program Director of Pediatric Dentistry Residency Program

Management of White Spot Lesion Prevention for a Patient under Ortho Treatment

On-demand webinar

The Introduction of Artificial Intelligence in Clinical Dentistry
Robert Kolts

Robert Kolts DDS, MBA Clinical Director, Overjet

Cindy Valrie Roark

Cindy Valrie Roark DMD, MS, Senior Vice President & Chief Clinical Officer Sage Dental

Ira Lamster

Ira Lamster DDS, MMSc

The Introduction of Artificial Intelligence in Clinical Dentistry

On-demand webinar

Variants of normal radiologic anatomy that may simulate disease on panoramic images Part 1
Ernest Lam

Ernest Lam DMD, MSc, PhD, FRCD(C) Associate Dean, Graduate Education University of Toronto

Variants of normal radiologic anatomy that may simulate disease on panoramic images Part 1